23,876 (2011)

Local Government
City of Boroondara
10.5 km² (4.1 sq mi)

7 km (4 mi) from Melbourne

Suburbs around Kew
Kew East
Balwyn North
Hawthorn East
Area Profile
Kew is a suburb of Melbourne, Victoria, Australia, 6 km east from Melbourne's Central Business District. Its local government area is the City of Boroondara. At the 2011 Census, Kew had a population of 23,876.

Formerly a city in its own right, Kew City Council, Hawthorn City Council and Camberwell City Council were amalgamated in 1994 to form the City of Boroondara. The suburb borders the Yarra River to the west and north, with Hawthorn to its south and Balwyn to its east.

Kew is one of Melbourne’s most affluent suburbs, with a plethora of Victorian and Art Deco mansions, graced by stunning gardens set back from tree-lined streets, such as Raheen. This is also reflected in house prices, where the price of a home is more than twice the metropolitan Melbourne average. There is abundant parkland in the suburb, including Yarra Bend and the Studley Parks. City of Boroondara achieves the highest score of all Melbourne municipal areas on the SEIFA index of disadvantage, compiled by the Australian Bureau of Statistics (the lower the score, the more disadvantage).

16 Kew - St Kilda Beach - Melbourne University (via City and St Kilda)
24 North Balwyn - City (via La Trobe Street).
27 City - Kew Tram Depot (via La Trobe Street).
42 Box Hill - City (Collins Street West).
47 Port Melbourne - Kew Tram Depot (Barkers Road).
48 North Balwyn (Doncaster Road / Balwyn Road) - City (Docklands).
72 Camberwell (Burke Road / Cotham Road) - Melbourne University.
108 Box Hill - Southbank Tram Depot (Normanby Road).
109 Box Hill - Port Melbourne (via Collins Street).